Fight Fulton County Arts and Culture Budget Cuts! We Need Your Help Before June 18!

Stand Up with Us Against Fulton County Arts & Culture Budget Cuts
Help us stop a 32% reduction in arts grant funding

On Wednesday morning, the Fulton County Board of Commissioners will meet to vote on a 32% reduction in arts grant funding that reflects a budget decrease from $1.5 million to $750,000 for the remainder of 2014. This funding directly affects 90 local arts organizations located in Fulton County. The more people we have speaking out against cutting the arts and culture budget the better. The vote was originally scheduled for May 21 but was pushed back to this Wednesday, June 18 at 10:00 AM. Please join us in opposing these cuts by emailing our commissioners today!

Please plan to attend the Fulton County Board of Commissoners meeting to share why the arts are important to you. We hope to see you all at the meeting on Wednesday, June 18 at 10 AM.

Click here for a simple template letter that you can use to contact the commissioners over the next few days.  It is a Word document, so it can be easily edited if you would like to add an anecdote,. The contact information for the commissioners is below. If you live in Fulton County, it is important to let your commissioner know arts funding is important and matters to you.  If you do not live in Fulton County, let our commissioners know that you regularly come to Fulton County to enjoy arts and culture programs and, in return, spend additional money in the county.
 
Thank you for all you do for Atlanta Ballet and for the arts in Atlanta!
 


 
 
Fulton County Commissioner Contact Information

 
District 1 (At Large) Chairman John Eaves
Email: john.eaves@fultoncountyga.gov
Phone: 404-612-8206
 
District 2 (At Large) Commissioner Robb Pitts
Email: robb.pitts@fultoncountyga.gov
Phone: 404-612-8210
 
District 3 Commissioner Liz Hausmann
Email: liz.hausmann@fultoncountyga.gov
404-612-8213
 
District 4 Commissioner Tom Lowe
Email: tom.lowe@fultoncountyga.gov
404-612-8218
 
District 5 Commissioner Emma Darnell
Email: emma.darnell@fultoncountyga.gov
Phone: 404-612-8222
 
District 6 Commissioner Joan Garner
Email: joan.garner@fultoncountyga.gov
Phone: 404-612-8226
 
District 7 Commissioner William “Bill” Edwards
Email: commissioner.edwards@fultoncountyga.gov
Phone: 404-612-8230
 
Dwight Ferrell – County Manager
Email: dwight.ferrell@fultoncountyga.gov

 

Atlanta Ballet Company dancers Yoomi Kim and Nadia Mara and Apprentice Kelsey Ebersold. Photo by Charlie McCullers.

Leave a Comment